Awakening Chakras with Hand Mudras & Mantra Sounds

Author: Jessica Tracy

Hand Mudras with Chakra Mantra Sounds

Every chakra in your body has a chakra sound associated with it, also known as a bija mantra or seed mantra.

These chakra sounds are very powerful when it comes to unblocking your seven chakras and awakening your kundalini life force.

So, what exactly is seed mantra?

In Hindu tradition the word bija means "seed", and it is also a letter in a Sanskrit alphabet, which consists of 50 different bijas.

Mantric sounds (seed mantras or bija mantras) are very powerful tools for tuning our mind and body to correct energetic resonance.

Chanting seed mantras during your yoga practice or meditation will allow you to change the flow of the energy in your body and remove stagnant energetic blocks.  

Mantras are "words of power" and they can be found in many spiritual traditions all over the world.

What are the mantra sounds for each chakra?

There are seven mantra sounds associated with 7 chakras in your body.
Chanting these sounds will allow you to create energetic balance and better align your chakras:

  1. LAM – Root Chakra - 1st Bija Mantra
  2. VAM - Sacral Chakra – 2nd Bija Mantra
  3. RAM – Solar Plexus Chakra – 3rd Bija Mantra
  4. YAM – Heart Chakra – 4th Bija Mantra
  5. HAM – Throat Chakra – 5th Bija Mantra
  6. SHAM - Third Eye Chakra – 6th Bija Mantra
  7. OM – Crown Chakra – 7th Bija Mantra

What is Mudra?

Mudra is a symbolic way of communicating with the deity by using different hand gestures. Mudras play an important role in many Hindu and Buddhist rituals and they are very often used along with mantras (chanting sounds), asanas (body positions) and pranayama (breathing techniques).

Hand mudras are believed to have positive healing properties, because they allow you to better channel higher energies into your body and mind.

Why are the hand mudras so important?

There is a massive amount of energy which flows through our hands and according to Hindu tradition each finger represents one of the five elements:

  1. Thumb (agni) - Fire
  2. Index finger (vayu) - Air
  3. Middle finger (akash) - Ether
  4. Ring finger (prithvi) - Earth
  5. Little finger (jal) - Water

Mudras are extremely easy to use, but they can create powerful transformation in your life by liberating and balancing your prana (life force).

Hand mudras, along with mantras are 2 easy tools that can help you liberate energy locked within your chakras and other energy channels (known as nadis).

You can begin exploration of balancing your chakras with mantras and mudras by following our 'Mantra & Mudra Guide' below:

Awakening Chakras with Hand Mudras and Mantra Sounds

Get 10% Off your order with code BLOG10 at our store

Related Articles

111 Angel Number Meaning
111 Angel Number Meaning
You may be noticing the number 111 everywhere. If this happens to you, then do not think you are being haunted by the number. If you look...
Read More
Ultimate Guide to Sacral Chakra | Svadhisthana
Ultimate Guide to Sacral Chakra | Svadhisthana
Before I started working on my sacral chakra I was really struggling to execute on all of my creative potential and I was unable to go wi...
Read More
Ultimate Guide to Root Chakra | Muladhara
Ultimate Guide to Root Chakra | Muladhara
I think you’ll agree when I say that you can’t build a great house on a weak foundation.We often have great ideas in life, which are just...
Read More

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published