Third Eye Chakra Symbol Meaning

Author: Jessica Tracy

Third Eye Chakra Symbol

The third eye chakra is the 6th chakra in the body, and it is your main portal to step beyond duality and take full command of your reality.

The 6th chakra is your center of intuition, imagination, self-awareness, and lucidity.

The element associated with the third eye chakra is light, and the color of the sixth chakra is indigo, or deep blue.

Ajna chakra is also the seat of the sixth sense as it allows you to see the world through the lens of your intuition, and it helps you to clarify your inner vision.

Ajna chakra symbol is represented by indigo blue lotus, and it consists of the following elements:

  • 2 petals representing Ida and Pingala with 2 Sanskrit syllables.
  • Downward-facing triangle.
  • Seed mantra OM यं in the center.

Let's have a look at each of these elements individually and find out what is their meaning.

Third Eye Chakra Symbol: 2 Petals of the Lotus Meaning

Two petals of Ajna chakra are meant to represent Ida and Pingala – 2 most important, subtle energy channels (known as “nadis” in Sanskrit), which travel all the way up from root chakra to your head and meet with Sushumna nadi. 

Sushumna is a central nadi which connects all of your chakras along the spine and guides your kundalini energy up towards your crown chakra. 

Sometimes left petal of the third eye chakra symbol has a syllable HAM हं written on it, which represents Shiva (symbol of masculine principle), and the right petal is decorated with syllable KSHAM क्षं, which is associated with Shakti (feminine principle). 

Two petals of the Ajna chakra symbol can be also interpreted as physical eyes, the manifest and unmanifest mind, or pineal and pituitary glands.


Third Eye Chakra Symbol: Downward-Facing Triangle

In the center of the lotus, there is a downward-facing triangle representing enlightenment and your connection to the divine with a syllable OM ॐ, known as third eye chakra bija mantra (or seed mantra).

The OM is considered to be the world's fundamental sound, which includes all the other sounds. 

It is also a sacred spiritual symbol in Hinduism, Buddhism, and Jainism, where it is regarded as the Universe's supreme sound and a representation of the Creator. 

Third Eye Chakra Symbol Meaning

Third Eye Chakra Symbol Deity: Ardhanarishvara

Ardhanarishvara is a hybrid form of the Hindu deities Shiva and Shakti.

The right half of the Ardhanarishvara depicts the calm and conscious nature of Shiva energy. 

In tantric ideology, Shiva and Shakti are metaphysically involved with each other through a tantric union, which is much more than just a physical union of a man and a woman. 

The fusion of the masculine and feminine forces (Purusha and Prakriti) of the world is captured within the image of Ardhanarishvara, and it illustrates that Shakti, God's feminine principle, is inseparable from Shiva (or, as some people interpret, the male principle of God) and vice versa. 

This energy signifies the absolute reality of the entire cosmos, the whole truth on which the universe is built. It is profound, free, grounded, and aware.

The other half of Ardhanarishvara, undoubtedly, is what Shakti represents. Her energy is more of a flowing nature. Her vitality and creative instinct complement the calm nature of Shiva energy. 

All the life forms that you see around the world is the result of this expressive and flexible energy of Shakti.

You can learn more about Ardhanarishvara and this divine union in other article on our blig: Shiva & Shakti - Union Of Divine Energies.

Ardhanarishvara - Shakti and Shiva Union

Are you interested in healing all of your chakras?
Are any of your chakras blocked?

We have created comprehensive healing guides for each chakra in your body!

Click on one one of the links below and learn how to unblock all of your chakras:

1. Root Chakra Healing Guide | Muladhara.
2. Sacral Chakra Healing Guide | Svadhisthana.
3. Solar Plexus Chakra Healing Guide | Manipura.
4. Heart Chakra Healing Guide | Anahata.
5. Throat Chakra Healing Guide | Vishuddha.
6. Third Eye Chakra Healing Guide | Ajna.
7. Crown Chakra Healing Guide | Sahasrara.

Get 60% OFF Digital Downloads!

Get 60% OFF Digital Downloads!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Please note that all comments are moderated before being published and your email address will not be displayed. Required fields are marked *