Root Chakra Symbol Meaning | Muladhara Symbolism

Author: Jessica Tracy

Root Chakra Symbol - Base Chakra Symbol Meaning

The root chakra is the foundation of your chakra system, and one of its main functions is to keep you grounded in the physical world.

Other important functions of the root chakra include: survival, stability, comfort, safety and self-identity.

The element associated with base chakra is Earth, and the color of the root chakra symbol is red.

Root chakra symbol resembles a mandala lotus and it consists of the following elements:

  • 4 petals.
  • Square.
  • The downward-facing triangle within a square.
  • Seed mantra LAM लं symbol in the center.
  • Red color.

Let's have a look at each of these elements individually and find out what is their meaning.

Root Chakra Symbol: 4-Petalled Lotus Meaning

The root chakra symbol represents the birth of human consciousness, and, according to Sankhya philosophy, four petals of the root chakra lotus symbolize 4 aspects of a human mind:
  • Mind: Manas.
  • Intellect: Buddhi.
  • Consciousness: Chitta.
  • Ego: Ahamkara.

Together, all of these 4 aspects are called Antahkarana.
Let's have a look at the meaning of each aspect:

 Antahkarana - 4 aspects of a human mind

Other sources indicate that 4 petals of the root chakra symbol are related to the Hindu concept of Purusartha.

In Hinduism, Purusarthas (पुरुषार्थ in Sanskrit) are 4 goals in human life:

  1. Dharma - righteousness, and living with moral values.
  2. Artha - purpose in life and ethical pursuit of abundance and prosperity.
  3. Kama - pleasure, love and enjoyment of life.
  4. Moksha - spiritual liberation, and feeling of oneness with the Divine.

Root Chakra Symbol: Square With Triangle

Square is a basic geometric shape, which has foundational energy to it. It represents balance, physicality, stability, and structure.

Square is associated with number 4.
In the physical realm, number four plays an important role, as it represents a few basic laws of nature:

  • There are 4 seasons during 1 calendar year: spring, summer, autumn, and winter.
  • There are 4 directions we can move on Earth: north, south, east, and west.
  • There are 4 elements in nature: earth, water, fire, and air.

The downward-facing triangle symbolizes the expansion and unfolding of our consciousness.

The reversed shape symbolizes the direction of our expansion and evolution: all of us start from the seed (rooted in base chakra) and blossom to the peak of our human potential.

Root Chakra Muladhara Symbol

Root Chakra Symbol: Red Color

Red is the color that draws your attention right away, which can be linked with the root chakra survival function.

Red is also a color of vitality, power, and confidence that encourages us to be more grounded.

Red color wavelength is the slowest among all colors in the spectrum of visible light.

Root Chakra Symbol Deity: Ganesha

Deity of root chakra is Hindu god Ganesha, who is sometimes depicted in the middle of the root chakra symbol.

Ganesha is an elephant-headed God who is a son of Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati. 

As the god of the first chakra, Ganesha blesses all beginnings and asks us to connect with our physical bodies and get grounded to the earth.

Ganesha elephant head represents the soul (atman) and a human body symbolizes physical realm (maya).

God Ganesha

Get 60% OFF Digital Downloads!

Get 60% OFF Digital Downloads!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Please note that all comments are moderated before being published and your email address will not be displayed. Required fields are marked *